Reviews

13    Years of  Great Reviews from the Cliffs Ridge Family

Great Rental Near Marquette!

I had a family member getting married in Marquette, and most of our family is from downstate in the Lansing/Flint area. We were looking into hotels and were shocked by some of the prices. We also wanted to spend time together as a family while in Marquette. I found Cliffs Ridge and we booked it. It was my wife and I, and two of my cousins and their husbands. We had six people and all slept quite comfortably. There were three queen bedrooms, and had another room with twin size bunk beds. There were also a couple of futons that could have been used. Since I found the place, my family gave us the master bedroom which had its own full bathroom, private deck outdoors, sky lights, and a living space in our room. It was very nice. The owners were great with directions on how to find the place, and were great at communication throughout the process. After arrival I had phone numbers for both the owner and caretakers in case of emergencies and received emails from both making sure we had all we needed.

 

The weekend we were in Marquette was the first rainy weekend of this long hot summer I think, so some of our outdoor plans had to be cancelled. We, as well as many of my other family members had booked the Pictured Rocks boat tour but it was cancelled due to weather. While they were checking in with me to make sure we were taken care of, the owner also made suggestions on other activities we could do in the area, since our plans had changed. They were great and very helpful!

 

The house has a reverse setup, with the 4 bedrooms on the first floor near the entrance. There is a stairwell leading up to a spacious gathering area and kitchen upstairs where we spent most of our time. We had access to a well stocked full kitchen and refrigerator with all of the appliances we needed. There is a large table that seats 8 and another smaller table that can seat 3 or 4. The night before the wedding, we had some of our other cousins over for dinner (I grilled bacon burgers on the provided gas grill, which was very nice). We had about 11 people in the upstairs area comfortably while we had dinner, played cards, and had a good time. There is also a large flat screen tv with a good cable package which included FSD to watch the Tigers. The very nice couch features footrests, and there is a recliner also. All of this about 10 mins from Marquette. Far enough away to not be downtown but close enough to be near everything. We couldn't have been happier!! 5 stars!

Matt B. – August 17, 2016

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

 

From the Owners: We are so happy that the house worked out so well for you and your family. Thank you, as well, for your patience with our driveway construction. Too bad you didn't get to do the Pictured Rocks cruise, but the Marquette area offers so many outdoor and indoor activities that I am sure there were quite a few things you found to do.

 

So glad you took advantage of the outdoor decks and grilling area, as well. We just love having others fully enjoy our home. Welcome to the Cliffs Ridge Family, Matt!

Cat and Rob

Perfect for ski weekend!

Stayed at Cliffs Ridge with a group of friends for a ski trip weekend. The house is only a few minutes from Marquette Mountain. The house was nice and cozy. We loved having a full kitchen so we didn't have to bring dishes and utensils. There is chopped firewood so we could warm up after a long day on the slopes! The house was clean when we arrived and we'll definitely be staying again in the future!

– MRF, Appleton, WI – December 2015

From the Owners: Thank you so much for choosing Cliffs Ridge for your Marquette stay. Welcome to the ever-enlarging Cliffs Ridge family! We miss that fireplace so much and are glad that others can enjoy it. Have a wonderful new year!

Spring/Winter Wonderland 

We had 2 families with 10 people total stay at this property. There was plenty of room for all of us. Loved that the kitchen had everything you could need including crock pots! We did lose power due to a wind/snow storm that came, but the property manager and owner were on it with in minutes (both of them are super nice!). Power wasn't lost long, but impressed that there was not a minute to waste in responding. Great location, seriously 1 mile from the ski lodge, 10 minutes from downtown. Very, very clean!! Would stay here again.

Heidi K, Green Bay, WI – April 2015

From the Owners: Thanks, Heidi. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the power thing, that is so rare! Thank you for choosing Cliffs Ridge for your Marquette stay, and we hope to see you again!

Worked Perfectly

We had to come up to Marquette for a wedding. Our biggest concern was our 5 month old grandson had a place he could sleep comfortably. We found Cliff Ridge very spacious and fit our family perfectly. Our 4 year old grandson loved the bunk beds. Marquette is a beautiful area and we certainly enjoyed our stay. The owner Cat was very helpful in where to go and what to do. If we get another chance to go to Marquette again, we would definately stay again at Cliff Ridge.

– Linda K, Galena, IL – June 2015

From the Owners: We are so glad the house worked out for you! One of the many great perks of Cliffs Ridge is that there is plenty of room for both togetherness and privacy. Let us know if we can accommodate you in the future, and thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge!

Comfortable stay

We rented the cabin so I could do the Noquemanon ski race. It was nice to have a quiet and comfortable place to rest before and after the big race. Our kids had a great time playing hide and seek. Everything was clean and comfortable and we appreciated that the kitchen had everything we needed to cook many meals.

– Duluth, MN Traveler, Duluth, MN – January 2015

From the Owners: Thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge. The way the house is set up, you can enjoy together time and privacy time. So glad you enjoyed your stay

As advertised! Great home in great location!

We had a family wedding in Marquette and the hotel prices for four rooms were outrageous. So glad we were able to find a place where everyone could be together for a reasonable price. Plus the benefit of making our own meals saved us a lot of money too. The house was very clean and accommodating. The steps were a bit steep for my mom who has difficulty with such things but if you don't have any issues it wouldn't be a problem. Unlike some rentals, the kitchen was fully stocked. We had everything we needed to make our meals. Plenty of extra blankets and such for our colder family members. We didn't get a chance to use the fireplace which really bummed me out but the weekend was just too busy! We had seven adults and two children and had more than enough room for everyone. Be sure to watch your step downstairs though, there's a high threshold that got everyone's big toe at least once! This was a great rental and we would go there again if we ever need a place in Marquette!

– Jen, Green Bay, WI – October 2014

 

From the Owners: So glad that the house worked out for you and your family, Jen. The stairs are steep, that's why there are three railings including a lower one for kids. The "step-up" in the foyer is from when the addition was added. Sorry it gotcha a couple of times! Thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge.

Yooper Girl Return

I always love returning to the U.P. to visit! This time instead of staying with my parents, I decided to stay here for some "quiet time" and I absolutely loved it! It was quiet, peaceful and the weather couldn't have been better! The accommodations were great. I tried to have a girls' weekend, but nobody else could make it. I would recommend it to my lower peninsula friends to make it a long weekend either for skiing or for a week long summer vacation. Perfect for a few families to make the trip up and stay here.

– Julie, Tecumseh, MI – September 2013

From the Owners: From one Yooper Girl to another, thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge and having such a great time. There is nothing like the UP in the fall, is there? Or any other time for that matter. Glad you could make the trip!

Back home in the UP

I took my husband to the UP for our Honeymoon, and we stayed at this beautiful home in Marquette. I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to introduce my husband to the UP. This home is nestled in the woods, cozy, comfortable, and everything you could ever want or need provided there for you. Very close to town, Lake Superior, and all the activities Marquette has to offer, yet very private and close to the ski hill. I can't wait to get back up there again!

–Wallabee, Beaufort, NC – September 2011

From the Owners: So glad you were able to enjoy our house as part of your honeymoon. It's certainly easy to fall in love with the UP, isn't it? They say that "God's area code is 906" for a good reason!

Excellent home nestled in the hills, view of Marquette Mountain! Clean with all amenities of home!

Rented house so that my brother and his family and I could visit my sister, who is a student. It was very nice for people like us on a budget to be able to just come somewhere to relax, watch tv, and not spend $100 on drinks and food we don't want or need. I also was able to work out while I was there by playing my exercise dvd or running on nearby trails. We also went hiking one day up a big mountain (Sugarloaf?) that lent a breathtaking view of the lake.

–C-Dub, Grass Lake, MI – October 2010

From the Owners: We were so happy to be able to accommodate you and your family, Cynthia. The house is perfect for extended families with its separated sleeping areas and great room. Thanks for your referrals to others, as well. We truly appreciate it.

Clean, quiet, comfortable

The property was just what we needed. There was ample room for our family of 4, another couple and a single member of our group. The house was clean, quiet and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

–Linda W, St. Paul, MN – October 2009

From the Owners: We are so glad you were able to enjoy the house, Linda. Thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge!

Summer 2009

We stayed at Cliffs Ridge and it is a beautiful home with lots of space and all the amenities a person could ask for. The property and interior were very clean and well cared for. The location is perfect for all of the great activites Marquette has to offer. We would definitely recommend this property.

–Katharine & Jed, Wisconsin – July 2009

 

From the Owners: Thanks for enjoying Cliffs Ridge, Katherine. We love having such quality, repeat renters who feel like the home is their home-away-from-home.

Great Getaway!

We stayed at the cottage after a trip to Marquette with a roller derby team. Great layout, with the living room and kitchen upstairs leaving the bedroom spaces a bit more private when multiple people are in the cabin. Fireplace was toasty! The cabin is close to downtown Marquette, biking and hiking trails and the ski hill. All around a great place to stay!

– Patti C, Eau Claire, WI – June 2016

From the Owners: Thank you so much, Patti! We were glad to be able to accommodate you and add you to the ever-growing Cliffs Ridge Family. Keep us posted if you are ever headed back to the UP. We are always making improvements and were just there for two weeks in June adding air conditioning and more.

Great place, great location, great owners

If you're visiting Marquette to go fat biking or skiing then Cliffs Ridge is ideal. Our group of nine were there to fat bike so we were thrilled to find the southern trails only a mile from the house, just past the ski hill, and the northern trails are an easy straight shot down the highway. The house is great, well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing trip to the U.P. The home owners are great to work with, extremely responsive to emails and everything you need to know about the house is clearly laid out with instructions.

– Richard, Madison, WI – February 2015

From the Owners: So glad to hear that it worked well for you and your party, Richard! Marquette is a year-around destination and our house is the closest accommodation to the ski hill and the trails. Thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge!

Great time and easy to work with owners

My husband, kids, my sister and brothers-in-law and their kids all went up to Marquette for our annual ski vacation. This was the first time back to Marquette in 6 years. We had a change of plans about 2 weeks before the trip and had to bring our dog with us. Cat the owner was awesome to work with and had no issues with this. When we go to the house, it was very clean and nice. We enjoyed the weekend with no problems in the house and it was plenty big enough for the 9 of us plus the dog. We are already talking about renting this next year for our ski trip.

– Nicole F, Minneapolis, MN – February 2015

From the Owners: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Cliffs Ridge and Marquette, Nicole! It was great working with you as well, and we were happy to be able to include your pup. We are Cocker Spaniel parents, and try to travel with our guys whenever we can. We have always wanted to ensure that others who stay at our house can enjoy the same convenience. Thanks so much for choosing Cliffs Ridge and becoming a part of the Cliffs Ridge Family!

Wonderful Rental!

Owner is awesome and quick to respond to questions. House was extremely clean and comfortable. We had a group of 9 and the house was large enough to accommodate everyone without being in each others' way. I would definitely recommend this rental to others or rent it again myself.

–Christina, Munising, MI – September 2013

From the Owners: Hi Christina, thank you so much for choosing Cliffs Ridge. It was great to be a part of your wedding experience!

Perfect Family Retreat

We came up for parent weekend; first visit with daughter since we moved her into NMU. Son's and future daughter-in-laws came up. This home and location is fantastic. Lots of room, yet cozy. Clean and well furnished. Perfect place for family to spend time to relax. Owners a joy to work with. No one wanted to leave! Can't wait to return.

–Paul R, – St. Charles, IL – November 2013

From the Owners: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The house is perfect for NMU parents and families! We are thrilled to be chosen as your home-away-from-home. Thanks for joining the Cliffs Ridge "Family"!

Perfect for our family

We came to Marquette to attend my nephew Dan Texter's wedding, Cliff's Ridge is located just outside of Marquette in a very wooded area, an easy drive to downtown. The house was clean and well kept, noise from the highway is very minimal. There was enough room for my two adult children and their familes, plus my sister from Washington, to all stay and enjoy each other's company. The airport is about a 10 minute drive on the same highway as the home. Next time we visit Marquette and have more travelers than just my husband and myself, we will definately book Cliff's Ridge. The owner, Cat, was a pleasure and very easy to make arrangements with.

–Julie T-W, Dorr, MI – August 2013

From the Owners: Thanks, Julie! I am glad your stay turned out so well. You and your sister were a joy to work with as well. Thanks for being a part of the Cliffs Ridge family!

Great Winter Destination

Owners easy to work with, welcoming and comfortable home, great location, pet friendly... Perfect!

–Steve, Benzie Co., MI – March 2012

From the Owners: Thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge, Steve!

Great Ski Weekend At Cliffs Ridge

Our group of ten had a really nice time at Cliffs Ridge. Came up to ski the Noquemanon. We found the place to be really nice, clean, well laid out, and super convenient to town and other activities (just around the corner from alpine and cross country skiing). The owners were great to deal with. Very reasonable and easy to communicate with. We would definitely recommend Cliffs Ridge for your UP vacation. Thanks!

Michigan​ Ski Group – January 2012

From the Owners: I am so glad you had a great time at Cliffs Ridge. I am also glad that Lake Superior cooperated with you and had fresh snow . . . you can usually count on the "lake effect" action!!

Great place for a reunion!

We have had our girls reunion there for the last two years. We lived in the dorms together in the mid 80's. The first reunion we had a few years ago, we all stayed in hotels. Not much interaction. At night, we each went back to our rooms. In the house, we can shop, have breakfast around the table, and visit into the wee hours of the morning. Very clean, convenient, and owners are very easy to work with! Thanks for such a great experience!

–PackerGirl, Sevierville, TN – October 2011

 

From the Owners: It has been great to be "part" of your reunion, Colleen. We have enjoyed the updates and photos, as well. We love our repeat customers; it's what we were going for when we started this -- new traditions and memories for other groups and families in the house we put so much love into! (Go NMU!)

Great, everything you need year round

Feels like you're coming home to your own cabin. Everything is clean with plenty of windows to see you are surrounded in beautiful nature. Owner is very kind and made it super easy to stay the same day we called. Thanks Cat, from the Midwest kite surfing crew

–Ben, Madison, WI – September 2010

From the Owners: Glad you guys could enjoy the house! Hope you enjoyed the wild Lake Superior wave action. Thanks, Ben!

Just what we needed!

Just got home yesterday from our stay at Cliffs Ridge. It worked out perfectly for some of our family to stay at for my sister's wedding. We actually were just down the road from all the festivities and didn't realize how close it was until we got there! Not right in town, but minutes away, which was great. The owners were great to work with and so accommodating. Also helped out when we had questions about the area itself. If we ever head back with a group, this will be the first place we check for availability!

– Big and Small Family, Ladysmith, WI – August 2014

From the Owners: So glad to be part of your family stay and your sister's wedding. Thank you for choosing Cliffs Ridge. We'd love to see you again.

Perfect!

Needed a place for family and friends to attend our daughter's graduation from NMU. This was the perfect house. Owners were great to work with, house was clean and had space for all 20 of us to have dinner together and visit. It's close enough to town to have access to everything, yet "in the country". Marquette Mountain, as advertised is just down the road, so if you're looking for a winter ski trip, a summer hiking trip or visiting NMU, this is a perfect location!! They also have a small fenced in area that would be perfect for your pet to vacation with you. :-)!

–Shirley, Michigan – December 2013

From the Owners: So glad the house worked so well for your celebration! We love the fact that so many wonderful family memories are shared at Cliffs Ridge. Thank you for choosing Cliffs Ridge for this once-in-a-lifetime event.

Perfect for a large family!

My family and I (7 adults) decided to rent a house for our trip to The UP for a funeral. Sad circumstances, but staying together in a comfortable, spacious home certainly made the trip much more pleasant! Because we were in town for a funeral, this was a very last minute rental and Cat was absolutely amazing to work with. The house was perfect for my mother, siblings, and I. We enjoyed cooking in the well-equipped kitchen, spending time on the deck with the fall leaves in full color, and hanging out in the cozy living room at night. The house was very clean, the beds were all comfortable, and the space was perfect for our large family. We spent time in both Marquette and Negaunee, so the location was absolutely ideal.

–Kristin K, Conover, NH – November 2013

From the Owners: Kristin, it was so nice to work with you to arrange this stay. Even though the circumstances that created the need for the trip were very sad, I am glad you were able to spend quality time with your family. I thoroughly enjoyed "meeting" you and being able to help make a tough time less hard. Thank you so much for choosing Cliffs Ridge!

Family Memories

If you need two hotel rooms come here! A beautiful home in a quiet private setting. Easy to find and perfectly designed so the early sleepers are away from the night action. The L shaped area allows several groups to enjoy the fireplace while games, TV or Kibitzing take place with little interference. So pretty in the winter. It is easy to rent and easy to follow instruction with a local help number which I never needed. Cleaner than many motels and lots of hot water! Don't miss the Creole restaurant (Lagniappe) down town! Best outside of the Big Easy.

–Proud Dad, Jackson, MI – December 2011

 

From the Owners: I am so glad you enjoyed the house! Lagniappe is a wonderful restaurant that is owned by someone I went to NMU with, so it's great to hear they are still doing so well. We go there every time we are back. (It's also fun that it is located in the old Muggzy's Hideout in the basement of the former Scarlett O'Hara's, for any of you who hail from the late 70s Marquette/NMU nightlife!) We love to know that folks are enjoying the same special points about the house that we do, as well.

Golf getaway

We really enjoyed our stay at Cliff's Ridge! It is a clean property that is well laid out. All bedrooms are on the lower level and the kitchen, dining, and living rooms are on the upper level. The deck was a great place for a nice cookout we had. The location is great for getting to the nearby golf courses. The only drawback would be the closeness to the highway, which you cannot see, but you do hear the cars drive by. After awhile you sort of get used to it. I would recommend this property for renting.

–Earl G, Muskegon, MI – July 2012

From the Owners: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I don't like the highway either, but as you said, you do get used to it. It also connects you quickly to all of the other wonderful things to do in the area. I do love the house, and miss it. Thanks so much for choosing it for your vacation and treating it like your own!

Noquemanon

Our group of ten had a really nice time at Cliffs Ridge. Came up to ski the Noquemanon. We found the place to be really nice, clean, well laid out, and super convenient to town and other activities (just around the corner from alpine and cross country skiing). The owners were great to deal with. Very reasonable and easy to communicate with. We would definitely recommend Cliffs Ridge for your UP vacation. Thanks!

–Joost K, Madison, WI – January 2012

 

From the Owners: I am so glad that the house worked out well for you. Also glad that Lake Superior helped out with the snow for the Noque!

Thanksgiving in Marquette

My family met in Marquette to spend the holiday together and we had a wonderful time at Cliff's Ridge! The kitchen/living room area was well suited to visiting and we loved the feeling of being in a tree house. The bedrooms were comfortable and well-appointed. Having them on the lower level helped with getting children to sleep! The property was as presented and the owners were very helpful and responsive. We would definitely recommend this property and will probably return in the future!!

–Patrice S. Livonia, MI – November 2011

From the Owners: We are so glad you were able to enjoy our house for Thanksgiving; we spent many a Thanksgiving there ourselves. Also, it's funny that you mention the "tree house" feeling. That's how we feel and others have mentioned it in the guest book. Have a wonderful 2012!

Nice Getaway

Very nice house, well kept up, and spacious with lots of room for a larger group to spread out. Close to all that Marquette has to offer, yet far enough out of town that it still feels secluded. The deck was great in the summer time!

–Mike & Sara, Detroit, MI – May 2009

 

From the Owners: Thanks for enjoying the house, Mike! The deck is wonderful, isn't it?

Clean, quiet, comfortable

The property was just what we needed. There was ample room for our family of 4, another couple and a single member of our group. The house was clean, quiet and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

–Linda W, St. Paul, MN – October 2009

From the Owners: We are so glad you were able to enjoy the house, Linda. Thanks for choosing Cliffs Ridge!